When CUNY Baccalaureate was established by a Resolution of the University on February 22, 1971, that Resolution set up the following governance structure.

The governing body for CUNY Baccalaureate is a University Committee that advises the Academic Director on the administration, coordination, and development of the program. The faculty members of this committee are responsible for: recommending the awarding of degrees to the CUNY Board of Trustees; approving, auditing, and certifying the academic policies and procedures governing the program; and overseeing student appeals on programmatic policies, and procedures.

The University Committee is composed of faculty, administrators, and students. The membership of the Committee is:

  • the President of The Graduate Center or his/her designee
  • the Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs or his/her designee
  • a CUNY college president, chosen by the Council of Presidents for a one-year term, or his/her designee
  • six faculty members and two alternates from different colleges and different disciplines, chosen by the University Faculty Senate for staggered (two) three-year terms
  • five CUNY Baccalaureate students nominated by the Academic Director and approved by the University Student Senate for one-year terms.

Students interested in serving on this Committee should contact the Academic Director. Each academic year, the University Committee elects a chairperson from among the Committee’s faculty members.

Administration Members

Dr. Martin Burke
Chair, University Faculty Senate
Designee: Dr. Kathleen Barker
Vice Chair, University Faculty Senate

José Luis Cruz
Executive Vice Chancellor and University Provost
: Dr. Lucinda Zoe
Senior University Dean and Vice Provost for Academic Programs and Policy

Dr. James L. Muyskens
Interim President of The Graduate Center
Designee: Brian A. Peterson
Dean for Academic Initiatives and Strategic Innovation, Interim Vice President of Administration and Finance

Dr. Mary Pearl
University Dean, Macaulay Honors College

Faculty Members

Prof. Margaret Carroll (Chair)
Medgar Evers College

Prof. Sharona A. Levy
Brooklyn College
Speech Communication Arts and Sciences

Prof. Alyshia Galvez
Lehman College
Latin American and Puerto Rican Studies

Prof. Gerald VanLoon
New York City College of Technology
Hospitality Management

Dr. Joseph Ugoretz
Senior Associate Dean and Chief Academic Officer, Macaulay Honors College

Prof. Joanne Spurza
Hunter College
Classical and Oriental Studies

Prof. Emily Tai
Queensborough Community College

Student Members

Lucien Baskin, Baruch College
Emilia Decaudin, City College/Macaulay Honors College
(Marvin) Yui Him Lo, Hunter College
Gabriela Montano, John Jay College
Amber Rivero, Medgar Evers College

Meeting Dates for the 2019-20 Academic Year will be announced soon.

The University Committee typically meets in September, December, March and May.

Meeting agendas will be made available here two weeks prior to each scheduled meeting.

Minutes of University Committee meetings are available upon request.